Experiment

Indulge me. I am about to embark on an experiment of sorts. This is something that has been bubbling in my subconscious for a while. I am going to try and tell three short stories, different genres each, but arrive at the same juncture at the end. That conclusion will tie in with an earlier blog post of mine.

Why do I want to do this? Because I can. The beauty of writing for oneself, without any professional or time constraints means that I can explore a plethora of styles. Mental gymnastics that keeps me on my toes metaphorically. I would love to hear what you think, so, by no means, hold back. Give it to me straight. If it stinks, tell me. If it’s good, say so. If it’s indifferent, and you really couldn’t be fussed either way, well then obviously, you won’t bother reading any further. And that’s okay too. All feedback is welcome.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Experiment

      1. sounds very exciting. A little like ‘French Lieutenant’ Woman’ where Fowler provides two entirely differing ending to the same story. In the film the different endings are shown as happening -one for the characters in the story and another for the cast that plays the characters. Your stories actually seem to be attempting the opposite. Great! Really looking forward to reading them.

      2. In actual fact, there were three possible endings. The film only showed two (from what I can recall). I am hoping to arrive at the same position from three different angles. A bit like the testimony given by three different viewers of the same accident. My three stories will be unrelated except for the end. Let’s see how this works out….

  1. I believe the opinion of your reader with regard your future work is not relevant and should not influence you, P. Once it is published we may then make our personal judgements but even then the opinion we form is our own. Be free in your writing. Do what you feel to be right. I always love to read your words …

    1. Thank you Becca! No it won’t influence me. It rarely does. You know I march to the beat of my own drum. Regardless, I always like to hear what people have thought of a piece. Otherwise it’s like firing bullets into the ether, not knowing whether any are hitting their targets. So, feedback, solicited or unsolicited, gives me a little fillip from time to time.😊

Leave a Reply

